23 Must-Read Books for Fans of High Fantasy, Twilight, D&D and More!

Dragons, magic, rabbit holes, medieval battles and vampires, OH MY! In recent weeks, fans of the fantasy genre have been thrilled to get their hands on a new book set in The Hunger Games universe, and excited for an announcement of a new Twilight novel to come. If you, like me, have already finished The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes and are looking for your next read while waiting for Midnight Sun, look no further! Check out some of the fantasy novels other booklovers just like you are recommending on HPB.com.

9780385541213_fdaf6

The Starless Sea
“Like an adult Alice in Wonderland. Such an adventure from start to finish. Really captivating and unique, like an adult version of Alice in Wonderland. There’s mystery and romance and fantasy…really good for anyone who likes any sort of genre book! Definitely a new favorite.” Continue reading

Have Books, Will Travel: To The Future!

In celebration of the new year, as we find ourselves accepting the fact that we were all lied to about how prominent flying cars would be by now, we present a fantastical list of novels with plots based in galaxies far, far away… far, far into the future, with technological capabilities far, far cooler than what we could ever imagine. That’s right, just in time to take on 2020 with wide-eyed optimism, let’s travel to the future, booklovers!

 

The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

9780141199344_69d15What better way to start a list about books having to do with a time beyond the present than with the author who coined the term “time machine” himself, H.G. Wells? In this aptly-titled novella, the narrator tells the story of a man simply referred to as the Time Traveller. And travel, he does. As far into the future as 802,701 A.D., where the London community he once knew has been reduced to a population of carefree, happy, childlike beings who seem to only be concerned about following their fruitarian diet and staying away from the dark. After wandering around, deducing, hypothesizing and doing whatever else it is that time-traveler scientist types do, he returns to the spot where he arrived to find that his time machine has gone missing…missing!

Turns out, those happy beings have a working class underbelly full of citizens who prefer to stay away from the light. We deduce that they might not be so comfortable with a strange, overly curious guy appearing out of nowhere and lurking about. We hypothesize that they just might try to kidnap him. Oh, and they could possibly be cannibals. Looks like the future is full of fun times all around according to good ol’ H.G.!

Continue reading

Have Books, Will Travel- Autumn In New York

Can you feel it? Pumpkin Spice is in the air, fellow booklovers!

‘Tis the season for cozying up on the couch with a few of your favorites and leaving the text messages unread. You’ve got pages to flip and you will not be bothered!

As temperatures taper off to more reasonable degrees, bookworms far and wide pack up their beloved beach reads and begin the search for stories that leave them with that warm feeling. Autumn has arrived, and rumor has it that when you’re in New York City, no season can compare. In this edition of Have Books, Will Travel, we take a look at a few good books set in the Big Apple. Continue reading

Behind the Book: The Spies of Shilling Lane by Jennifer Ryan

From bestselling author Jennifer Ryan comes The Spies of Shilling Lane, a thrilling new WWII story about a village busybody determined to find and rescue her missing daughter, discovering both herself and a second chance at love along the way. We are delighted that Jennifer Ryan has given us a inside look into her process and the inspiration behind this wonderful novel . Read on to discover more!

Continue reading

Have Books, Will Travel – Summer Edition

Can you feel it? Spring allergies are practically a thing of the past and summer allergies are well on their way, school days are done and children are spending long evenings poolside, summer vacations are booked and seaside travel abounds. If you’re headed to the beach this season, why not let a few good books tag along?

Introducing our new series, Have Books, Will Travel, where we’ll give you suggestions about the best books to have by your side as you trot the globe. Let’s start seaside, shall we? It is summer, after all. Continue reading

Perfect Reads for Your Relationship Status

Ah, love. Whether you’re hopelessly in it with your partner, showing it and sharing it with your friends or, you know, just waiting around for something to happen, we’ve got books for you! To be clear, we always have books for you, but Valentine’s Day is this month and we love (pun totally intended) a theme. Read on for our favorite couple (we’ll be here all night, folks) of books to suit your relationship status. Continue reading