Join Virtual Meetings with Bookish Backgrounds from HPB!

Looking for books to make your office look legit? Have you seen all your cool friends on Zoom calls with a sweet background but never found one that fits your bookish designs?


Well, Half Price Books has gathered a selection of stylish shelves and scenic storefronts to spice up your next conference call! Show your love for your favorite bookstore with these awesome backgrounds.

Right click and save your favorite backgrounds below!

Inspired to give your shelves a makeover? Fill your shelves to the brim with books coordinated by color, theme, even size! Check out our collections on Books by the Yard at your local HPB store or order online today!

Best of the Decade: 1980s

Editor’s Note: This year, our Half Price Books calendar once again features lists of books, movies and music. We’re heading into a new decade with a new focus…the past. Each month, we’ll share a list of events, inventions and, of course, books, movies and music, from every decade since the 1900s right here on the blog. Enjoy!


Prince was big, Pac-Man was big…hair was big. We head back to the era when the keytar was king to bring you a list of rad, and radical, events, books, music and movies that made serious moves in the 1980s.

BOOKS

The Color Purple – Alice Walker
Lonesome Dove – Larry McMurtry
Beloved – Toni Morrison
A Brief History of Time – Stephen Hawking
The Joy Luck Club – Amy Tan
The Satanic Verses – Salman Rushdie
The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
The House on Mango Street – Sandra Cisneros
Love in the Time of Cholera – Gabriel García Márquez

1980s 3

Continue reading

Book Recs from and for Kids Pre-K and Up!

Hey Booklovers, did you know Half Price Books now has reviews on our website? You can leave your thoughts on books, movies and music to help other shoppers choose their next great read, watch or listen!


Check out a few recommendations with rave reviews for young readers from preschool to high school below. Whether you want the best picture book for your kiddo’s age group or the perfect summer read for your teen, your fellow booklovers have the books for you!

PRESCHOOL AND UNDER

9780803741713_88ecb

1. The Book with No Pictures

“This book is just the most fun to read aloud to children. They will laugh at every page and be reciting it all the time. Just a great story overall and a fun #summerreading story.” Continue reading

Best of the Decade: 1960s

Editor’s Note: This year, our Half Price Books calendar once again features lists of books, movies and music. We’re heading into a new decade with a new focus…the past. Each month, we’ll share a list of events, inventions and, of course, books, movies and music, from every decade since the 1900s right here on the blog. Enjoy!


Andy Warhol makes a statement with cans of Campbell’s soup and The Beatles cross the pond to bring a new sound to the American audience. This month, we bring you a few important events as well as the books, music and movies that set the scene in the 1960s.

BOOKS

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
In Cold Blood – Truman Capote Continue reading

An Anti-Racist Booklist for Teens

Concerns about the way America continues to handle racial disparities have reached a boiling point during this past few months. Many have expressed their anguish over centuries of trauma inflicted on African Americans, Indigenous Peoples and people of color in this country; and rightfully so. In light of this uprising, there have been countless stories of solidarity and demands for justice not only from adults within the culture, but from youth of all backgrounds both domestically and internationally.

With such a passionate call for justice from teenagers from all 50 states and more than 18 countries around the world, knowledge about how race relations in the United States led us to this point is crucial. We’ve compiled a list of books we consider fundamental for teenagers who are settling into, or trying to find, their role in this new civil rights movement. You can find these books at your local library as well as on our shelves. We encourage teens not only to read them, but also to share them with others as a resource for building a strong foundation for the fight against systemic racism from a young person’s perspective.

All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely

9781481463348_afa30

 

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates Continue reading

23 Must-Read Books for Fans of High Fantasy, Twilight, D&D and More!

Dragons, magic, rabbit holes, medieval battles and vampires, OH MY! In recent weeks, fans of the fantasy genre have been thrilled to get their hands on a new book set in The Hunger Games universe, and excited for an announcement of a new Twilight novel to come. If you, like me, have already finished The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes and are looking for your next read while waiting for Midnight Sun, look no further! Check out some of the fantasy novels other booklovers just like you are recommending on HPB.com.

9780385541213_fdaf6

The Starless Sea
“Like an adult Alice in Wonderland. Such an adventure from start to finish. Really captivating and unique, like an adult version of Alice in Wonderland. There’s mystery and romance and fantasy…really good for anyone who likes any sort of genre book! Definitely a new favorite.” Continue reading

17 BOOKS CUSTOMERS ARE READING DURING THE PANDEMIC

We are all dealing with the current global pandemic in different ways. Whether you are looking for books about pandemics or diseases to get more details, or you are seeking novels to help escape our current reality, Half Price Books has you covered. We recently launched Reviews on our website and customers have been sharing their thoughts on their current quarantine reads. Check out some of the books that our customers have been reading during their quarantine!


Books Customers Recommended to Relax and Escape Reality:

The Hidden Messages in Water by Masaru Emoto
“I keep giving my copy away! Mesmerizing! The value of goodness, gratitude & love captured my water. Perfect read for Covid-19 isolation.”

9780743289801_ed208 Continue reading