Meet the Bibliomaniacs: The HPB Belle Meade Team

Hey Nashville, we are moving in! We are ecstatic about our new store in Nashville, Tennessee. In this edition of Meet the Bibliomaniacs, we would like to introduce you to the HPB Belle Meade team, who’ve been hard at work (in masks and maintaining safe social distancing practices, of course) building out our newest store for you. Take it away, guys!

1. When did you join the team?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Continue reading

Best of the Decade: 1960s

Editor’s Note: This year, our Half Price Books calendar once again features lists of books, movies and music. We’re heading into a new decade with a new focus…the past. Each month, we’ll share a list of events, inventions and, of course, books, movies and music, from every decade since the 1900s right here on the blog. Enjoy!


Andy Warhol makes a statement with cans of Campbell’s soup and The Beatles cross the pond to bring a new sound to the American audience. This month, we bring you a few important events as well as the books, music and movies that set the scene in the 1960s.

BOOKS

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
In Cold Blood – Truman Capote Continue reading

An Anti-Racist Booklist for Teens

Concerns about the way America continues to handle racial disparities have reached a boiling point during this past few months. Many have expressed their anguish over centuries of trauma inflicted on African Americans, Indigenous Peoples and people of color in this country; and rightfully so. In light of this uprising, there have been countless stories of solidarity and demands for justice not only from adults within the culture, but from youth of all backgrounds both domestically and internationally.

With such a passionate call for justice from teenagers from all 50 states and more than 18 countries around the world, knowledge about how race relations in the United States led us to this point is crucial. We’ve compiled a list of books we consider fundamental for teenagers who are settling into, or trying to find, their role in this new civil rights movement. You can find these books at your local library as well as on our shelves. We encourage teens not only to read them, but also to share them with others as a resource for building a strong foundation for the fight against systemic racism from a young person’s perspective.

All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely

9781481463348_afa30

 

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates Continue reading

An Anti-Racist Booklist for the Effective Ally

Concerns about the way America continues to handle racial disparities have reached a boiling point during the past few weeks. Many have expressed their anguish over centuries of trauma inflicted on African Americans, Indigenous Peoples and people of color in this country; and rightfully so. In light of this uprising, there have been countless stories of solidarity and demands for justice not only from those within the culture, but those from Caucasian backgrounds both domestically and internationally.

With such a strong show of support from all 50 states and more than 18 countries around the world, extensive knowledge about race relations in the United States is crucial. We’ve compiled a list of books we consider fundamental for those who may not be as well versed when it comes to the struggle of black people in American society. You can find these books at your local library as well as on our shelves. We encourage you not only to read them for yourselves, but also to share them with others as a resource for building a strong foundation for the fight against systemic racism.

White Fragility: Why It’s So Hard For White People to Talk About Racism

9780807047415_921b4

The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness

Me and White Supremacy: Combat Racism, Change the World, And Become a Good Ancestor  Continue reading

HPB Presents: Featured Collectibles Auction

Welcome to our second Featured Collectibles Auction! We were thrilled to receive a great response to our first auction, so this time, we wanted to share with you three very special collectibles that are available. Read on for item details as well as information on the bidding process!


Item #1: Casino Royale Records

A pop soundtrack and related rarities—
We recently acquired books, ephemera and demo records from the library of Charles K. Feldman, famed Hollywood agent (Greta Garbo, John Wayne, Marilyn Monroe and many others), and producer of A Streetcar Named Desire and many other movies, including Casino Royale. The movie soundtrack LP was long sought by audiophile collectors because its master was recorded very “hot.” It has become easier to find, but remains on many want-lists. In addition to the soundtrack, we offer two records from Feldman’s holdings: a demo disc of the movie’s title song, made for Feldman’s production company, and a promo disc of reviews sent to radio stations.

CASINO ROYALE RECORDS ITEM DETAILS
Title: Casino Royale Soundtrack, plus demo & promo records
Label: Colgems COSO-5005, 1967
Condition: All records VG+ to NM
Minimum Bid: $75
EMAIL YOUR BID TO atbg@halfpricebooks.com
(Please include which item you would like to place a bid on in the subject line.) Continue reading

20 Books and Movies for Fans of Manga and Anime

Half Price Books recently launched reviews on HPB.com and we have loved seeing everything our bibliomaniacs are reading and reviewing! Check out some of the manga and anime your fellow booklovers are enjoying now.


Gunslinger Girl Omnibus Collection 2

“I first saw the anime for this series before reading the manga, there is more back story in these and you learn a lot more about the characters then what was in the anime. No real surprise there but the story does really get you thinking about some of the sides of the world most people choose not to see. I highly recommend the manga series.”

 

9781421527550_de3e2

Kimi Ni Todoke: From Me To You,

Vol. 1: From Me To You
“Kimi Ni Todoke is an award-winning manga series that spans 30 volumes. Do not let its length discourage you. It is an endearing series about acceptance. I highly recommend this series to manga readers that enjoy a realistic story focusing on relationships and dreams. The characters are the best part of the series–anyone can identify them. I have read the series multiple times; it never gets old. Treat yourself to a longer reading experience and binge on the shojo manga staple, Kimi Ni Todoke!”

Continue reading

A Book List to Inspire Young Readers In Challenging Times

As we’ve witnessed protests from around the world in the name of justice and equality, it has become evident there is plenty of conversation to be had about the way society treats one another and what we can do to help make things better. It isn’t always an easy conversation to have, and it can be even more challenging when you’re faced with explaining our current state of affairs to children and teens.


While we don’t have all of the answers, we have hope; and we’ve compiled a list of books to share with young readers to help initiate conversations about race relations in America as well as instill confidence and love when those conversations are difficult. You can find these books at your local library as well as on our shelves.

A is for Activist by Innosanta Nagara

9781609805395_55ac8
A Terrible Thing Happened by Margaret Holmes
All Are Welcome by Alexandra Penfold and Suzanne Kaufman
Antiracist Baby by Ibram X. Kendi
Baseball Saved Us by Ken Mochizuki
Count Me In by Varsha Bajaj
Counting on Community by Innosanto Nagara Continue reading

How to Enter the #SummerReading Daily Giveaway

Our Feed Your Brain Summer Reading Program has gone virtual! This summer join us for 15 minutes a day to keep up an appetite for reading, and review your favorite books at HPB.com for a chance to win a $50 HPB Gift Card. One lucky reviewer will win each day from June 1-14.


Ready to enter the giveaway? Follow the steps below to enter.

1. Read a book

2. Go to HPB.com and find the title you read

trumpet2

3. Click the “Write a Review” linkReviewContest1

4. Make sure to include the #SummerReading Hashtag

ReviewContest2

5. Write reviews daily for more chances to win!

Restrictions apply. See details.

 

fyb_kids

23 Must-Read Books for Fans of High Fantasy, Twilight, D&D and More!

Dragons, magic, rabbit holes, medieval battles and vampires, OH MY! In recent weeks, fans of the fantasy genre have been thrilled to get their hands on a new book set in The Hunger Games universe, and excited for an announcement of a new Twilight novel to come. If you, like me, have already finished The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes and are looking for your next read while waiting for Midnight Sun, look no further! Check out some of the fantasy novels other booklovers just like you are recommending on HPB.com.

9780385541213_fdaf6

The Starless Sea
“Like an adult Alice in Wonderland. Such an adventure from start to finish. Really captivating and unique, like an adult version of Alice in Wonderland. There’s mystery and romance and fantasy…really good for anyone who likes any sort of genre book! Definitely a new favorite.” Continue reading

Best of the Decade: 1950s

Editor’s Note: This year, our Half Price Books calendar once again features lists of books, movies and music. We’re heading into a new decade with a new focus…the past. Each month, we’ll share a list of events, inventions and, of course, books, movies and music, from every decade since the 1900s right here on the blog. Enjoy!


Charlie Brown causes a cute commotion in newspapers nationwide and Rosa Parks’ choice to remain seated makes a major statement. This month, we share a few important events as well as the books, music and movies that shaped society in the 1950s.

1950s 2

BOOKS

Invisible Man – Ralph Ellison Continue reading