23 Must-Read Books for Fans of High Fantasy, Twilight, D&D and More!

Dragons, magic, rabbit holes, medieval battles and vampires, OH MY! In recent weeks, fans of the fantasy genre have been thrilled to get their hands on a new book set in The Hunger Games universe, and excited for an announcement of a new Twilight novel to come. If you, like me, have already finished The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes and are looking for your next read while waiting for Midnight Sun, look no further! Check out some of the fantasy novels other booklovers just like you are recommending on HPB.com.

9780385541213_fdaf6

The Starless Sea
“Like an adult Alice in Wonderland. Such an adventure from start to finish. Really captivating and unique, like an adult version of Alice in Wonderland. There’s mystery and romance and fantasy…really good for anyone who likes any sort of genre book! Definitely a new favorite.”

 

9780765365279_741d2

The Way of Kings
“Great book. Excellent story. Good character development. Real page turner making you look forward to following each of the character group’s paths. If you enjoyed the Robert Jordan, Joe Abercrombie or James Martin books, you will definitely want to read this one.”

 

9781635570298_2bd4f

The Priory of the Orange Tree
“This book takes the genre and turns it on its head; I’ve never fallen in love with characters like I have with these. If you are looking for a book that can stand on its own – no cliffhangers or obvious need for a sequel – and is at the same time very feminist and inclusive, filled with realistic characters who are flawed and fully imagined, you should look no further than this novel.”

 

9780670022410

A Discovery of Witches
“This is an amazing book! I couldn’t put it down the moment I started reading. Perfect mix of horror, romance, mystery, thrills.”

 

9780756404741

The Name of the Wind: The Kingkiller Chronicle: Day One
“A fantastic world built on magic and music, the name of the wind always keeps me coming back to read more. There are many layers to this story that engage the reader in one way or another no matter what happens next.”

 

9781524797744_4c53c

Kill the Farm Boy
“If you like anything remotely fantasy – Game of Thrones, Skyrim, DnD, Dark Souls, Critical Role, the Lord of the Rings – then you will absolutely love Kill the Farmboy.”

 

9780451460554

Blue Moon Rising
“Horror fantasy to laugh at! This is my favorite book of all time. I have re-read this book hundreds of times over the years. It has something for everyone. Action, comedy, horror, and even a romance. It’s like the grown up Princess Bride (with demons and dragons) it’s too good to put down…then you realize it’s a trilogy with a series in the middle and a few other books in the same universe. The series Hawk & Fisher is in the same universe and those books are amazing too.”

 

9780765333117

Three Parts Dead
“Tired of Tolkien based fantasy? Or stuff based off someone’s D&D game? If you are, look here.
It starts with the death of a god, the potential death of his chosen city and Tara Abernathy getting thrown out of the Hidden Schools. After that, hang on because it gets strange […] Along the way we meet vampire sailors, a possessed police force and driverless horses. And characters you care enough about to feel badly when bad stuff happens.”

 

9780307744432_d56f8

The Night Circus
“Absolutely Perfect. One of my favorite books of all time! Morgenstern mixes together the perfect amount of romance and magic, and uses amazing imagery to transport you right into the story. I recommend this one to anyone who asks me what they should read next.

 

9780553418606_a326f

The Library at Mount Char
“Fresh, Mind-bending Fantasy. The Library at Mount Char is a wonderfully bizarre story that paves a new path in fantasy literature […] The twists and turns along the way keep you captivated and wondering what will happen next, and I found I could never predict what was going to happen next. I was left disoriented, yet completely satisfied with this book. I can’t recommend it enough.”

 

9781595141743_5aa7a

Vampire Academy
“What a Great Read! I absolutely love this series and this author is one of my all-time favorites! [The] world she describes in great detail is well thought out and can pull you in while you are reading so that you feel like you are there. The series has love, friendship, strong female lead, mild violence, and romance. What more could you ask for?”

 

9781481456029_da77c

Clockwork Angel, Volume 1
“The Infernal Devices is Clare at her best– vivid characters, twisting plotlines, and with a new aesthetic you can almost feel yourself.”

 

9781594744761_b61e7

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
“This book is a masterpiece of a unique and imaginative type that is rarely seen. Ransom Riggs creates a scene of a modern boy with a modern life, and this boring everyday kind turns into a whirlwind of past and present that can only be described as a stunning display of creativity and a certainty that when you’ve began reading you can’t put this book down.”

 

9781481455923_0cd5d

The Mortal Instruments
“This book series was absolutely amazing! By far my favorite book series of all time! It takes you in a wild adventure that is never dull and always keeps you at the edge of your seat.”

 

9780061894640_0_Cover

Under A Vampire Moon
“Love that the title does not give any clue to what the book is about. Keeping that mystery!

This book is great!… I love the twist ending and how the romance blooms between the main characters. Lynsay Sands does an amazing job at keeping you interested. Very steamy!!!”

 

large

Dark Melody
“Vampire romance with a twist. Want romance with a twist? This book and all the series have it. Be sure to have a drink and snacks readily available when you start reading because once you start you won’t want to stop.”

 

9781619634442_8f83b

A Court Of Thorns and Roses
“This is one of the best books I have laid my hands on. I finished the series a week ago and debating whether or not I already want to read it again. When I started reading it at first, it reminded me of a spinoff of beauty and the beast- but it just kept getting better and better!! I’m telling you, if you’re looking at this book- just get it.”

 

9780345335517_5818d

Pawn of Prophecy
“Classic fantasy thrown on its head. This is, hands down, one of my favorite fantasy series, and this, the first of the series, is the best of the whole thing. I wasn’t expecting to laugh so hard or cry so deeply when I picked this up […] give this a read, highly recommended for fans of fantasy, and fantasy lovers who want something a little different.”

 

a shade of vampire

A Shade of Vampire
“Gotta read at least once! Way better than twilight and I loved reading twilight and it’s a great easy read!!!”

 

forgotten realms

Forgotten Realms the Cleric Quintet
“Simply incredible fantasy. Easily one of the greatest fantasy series that I have ever read, and that is saying something. The Cleric Quintet by R.A. Salvatore is a tour de force that brought me joy and delight with each page.”

9780441019274

Moon Called
“One of my favorite books ever! This book and the entire Mercedes Thompson series are one of my top 5 absolute favorite books! The main character is so lovable and amusing. I couldn’t put it down! I recommend it to anyone who loves a fast-paced and witty book!”

 

9780618260300

The Hobbit: Or There and Back Again
“One of the best fantasy books ever written. One of the greatest fantasy books ever written! One of my favorite memories is reading this book out loud to my 12-year-old son. Tolkien takes the reader on an amazing journey, enjoyable from cover to cover.”

 

9781250153708_0e201

The Adventure Zone: Here There Be Gerblins
“If you love fantasy and adventure and need a good laugh, then why haven’t you already picked this book up? Do yourself a favor and get it ASAP!!”

And that concludes the list! Did we leave off your favorite fantasy read? Let us know in the comments, and don’t forget to leave a review on HPB.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s