Take a Break, Read a Book!: Your Spring Break Reading Guide

Disappear into a different world and enjoy your Spring Break reading these fantastic books!

Everyone is looking for something to do for Spring Break this year. Whether a vacation is in the works or not, the best way to take a break is to read a book! If you’re in the airport waiting on the arrival of a plane or sitting in the car trying to ignore a hotly debated directions dispute, reading a book is a great way to escape. Reading to the kids while traveling is a great way to distract them from the ennui of getting to the destination. Of course, if you’re not going anywhere for this particular Spring Break, reading a book is great way to get away without all the costs and hassles of real travel. Read on to discover our list of recently released books you can find online or at your local Half Price Books store that are perfect for Spring Break!

stranger-than-fanfictionStranger Than Fanfiction by Chris Colfer (Teen)
From the New York Times bestselling author of the Land of Stories series Chris Colfer comes this fantastic standalone novel that promises to be an engrossing read. The story is centered on Cash Carter, a young, world-famous lead actor of the hit television show Wiz Kids. Four fans jokingly invite Cash Carter on a cross-country road trip, which he shockingly accepts. The group are chased by paparazzi and hounded by reporters. It is the story of an unlikely crew taking off on a journey of a lifetime – but along the way they discover that the star they love has been keeping deep secrets. What they come to learn about the life of the mysterious person they thought they knew will teach them about the power of empathy and the unbreakable bond of true friendship.

the-beast-is-an-animalThe Beast is an Animal by Peternelle van Arsdale (Teen)
This fantastic story is a hauntingly beautiful twisted fairytale. The main character, Alys, was seven when creatures called soul eaters came to her village. These soul eaters are twin sisters who were abandoned by their father and slowly grew into something not quite human, something that needs to feed on souls to survive. Alys and all the children in her village were spared by the twins, but having lost their parents and elders, the children were sent to live in a neighboring village. Afraid of facing a similar fate, the villagers in the children’s adopted home created a strict world where good and evil are as fundamental as the nursery rhymes children sing. Fear of the soul eaters – and of the Beast they believe guides them – rules village life. But the Beast is not what they think he is. And neither is Alys.

9780373212194.indd

Lifeblood by Gena Showalter (Teen)
Lifeblood,  the follow up to Firstlife, continues to tell the story of Tenley “Ten” Lockwood. Ten has made her choice and picked her realm in the Everlife, as war between Troika and Myriad rages. Now, Ten must face the consequences. Because Ten possesses a rare supernatural ability to absorb and share light, The Powers That Be have the highest expectations for her future—and the enemy wants her neutralized. Fighting to save her Secondlife, she must learn about her realm from the ground up while launching her first mission: convincing a select group of humans to join her side before they die. But Ten’s competition is Killian, the boy she can’t forget—the one who gave up everything for her happiness. He has only one shot at redemption: beating Ten at a game she’s never even played. As their throw-downs heat up, so do their undeniable feelings, and soon, Ten will have to make another choice: love or victory?

lincoln-in-the-bardo

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders (Historical Fiction)
This story unfolds in a graveyard over the course of a single night and is narrated by a dazzling chorus of voices. Set in February 1862, with the Civil War as a bloody backdrop, the story centers on President Lincoln’s beloved eleven-year-old son, Willie, who unfortunately meets his early demise. He is laid to rest in a Georgetown cemetery. This unforgettable story of familial love and loss breaks free of its realistic, historical framework into a thrilling, supernatural realm both hilarious and terrifying. Willie Lincoln finds himself in a strange purgatory, where ghosts mingle, gripe, commiserate, quarrel and enact bizarre acts of penance. This strange purgatory is referred to as the bardo, and contained within it is a monumental struggle for young Willie’s soul. This beautiful novel it is a testament to fiction’s ability to speak honestly and powerfully to the things that really matter to us. Saunders has invented a thrilling new form that deploys a kaleidoscopic, theatrical panorama of voices living and dead, historical and invented to ask a timeless, profound question: How do we live and love when we know that everything we love must end?

grandpas-great-escapeGrandpa’s Great Escape by David Walliams (YA)
The author of Demon Dentist is back with a new middle grade novel starring a boy and his grandfather. David Walliams has sold over a million books in the UK and is being hailed as the “heir to Roald Dahl.” Walliams, burst onto the American scene with the New York Times bestseller Demon Dentist. Now the UK’s #1 bestselling children’s author is back with this high-flying adventure about a boy and his grandfather, perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney and Rachel Renee Russell. Grandpa is Jack’s favorite person in the world. It doesn’t matter that he wears his slippers to the supermarket, serves Spam á la Custard for dinner and often doesn’t remember Jack’s name. But then Grandpa starts to believe he’s back in World War II, when he was a Spitfire fighter pilot, and he’s sent to live in an old folk’s home run by the sinister Matron Swine. Now it’s up to Jack to help Grandpa plot a daring escape!

ally's-mad-mysteryAlly’s Mad Mystery by Jessica Brody (YA)
Are you a Disney fan? Then you will be sure to enjoy this recently released book based on the story of the wildly successful Disney Descendants series, starring Ally, the daughter of Alice in Wonderland! This chapter book continues the story of Mal and her friends and introduces wonderful new tales of mystery, magic, and adventure! Whether you’re interested in the descendants of your favorite Disney stars or you  just want to read a short book filled with adventure, this will be a perfect read for you!

Your Spring Break is sure to be fantastic if you disappear into the worlds hidden in these books. You can travel along with Cash Carter or be a part of the sad fate of young Lincoln. However you decide to spend your vacation, be sure to stop by your local Half Price Books store and stock up on some great reads to keep you entertained for weeks to come!

Katy is the Promotions Coordinator at Half Price Books Corporate.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s