If You Like Me Before You, You May Also Like…

Me-Before-You-Jojo-MoyesIf you are part of the HPB Book Club, you are currently reading or perhaps just finished Me Before You, by Jojo Moyes, which is a book all hopeless romantics must read. At the beginning of the book, gregarious waitress Louisa Clark loses her job, and being one of the only working members of her family, she needs to find a new job fast. The problem is she isn’t really trained to do anything. Enter Will Traynor. After an accident left Will paralyzed, his family needs to find a caregiver for him, but they are not looking for someone who will look after his physical needs as much as they need someone to show him that his life is still worth living. Louisa Clark seems perfect for this. However, as Will and Louisa’s relationship grows, she discovers Will has a secret, and her job turns out to have greater consequences than she ever imagined. Me Before You is a book that will make you laugh, cry and just maybe plan a trip to Paris.

If you are looking for books similar to Me Before You, here are a few you might enjoy:

My Sister’s Keeper, by Jodi Picoult
Being Mortal, by Atul Gawande
The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green
The Age of Miracles, by Karen Thompson Walker
Belong to Me, by Marisa de los Santos
Me, Earl & the Dying Girl, by Jesse Andrews
The Rosie Project, by Graeme Simpson

25041504And of course, other books by Jojo Moyes, including the sequel to Me Before You, After You.

The movie version of Me Before You, starring Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin, was released June 3. I will admit that I haven’t gone to see the movie yet for fear I will react like I did when I went to see The Fault in Our Stars (desperately trying not to break down and sob in a dark room surrounded by strangers).

So, what is your next read? To find out what we’ll be reading next, join the HPB Book Club.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s