If you liked Echo, then you might also like…

If you are part of the HPB Book Club, you are currently reading (or perhaps just finished) Echo by Pam Muñoz Ryan. If you are not part of the HPB Book Club, you can join and read this book, for even though Echo was written for middle-graders, readers of all ages can’t put this book down.

What makes this story so intriguing?  Its main character is a harmonica.  Weaving a fairy-tale-like introduction to the book, Ryan follows a special harmonica that touches the lives of three very different children leading up to and during the World War II.  Friedrich is a German boy whose birthmark puts him in danger as Hitler enforces the perfection of the German race.  Mike is an orphan who is trying to protect his little brother by any means necessary.  Finally, Ivy is a Hispanic-American girl who has to battle prejudice on two fronts, after America has been drawn into the war. Each child finds the healing power of music when they find a very special harmonica.  I can’t even tell you which story was my favorite.

However, if your favorite story was Friedrich’s, you may want to read:

The Upstairs Room by Johanna Reiss; Number the Stars by Lois Lowry; The Book Thief by Markus Zusak; The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne;

When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr; The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank

If your favorite story was Mike’s, you may want to read:

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan; What I Call Life by Jill Wolfson; One for the Murphys by Lynda Mullaly Hunt; The Year We Sailed the Sun by Theresa Nelson

If your favorite story was Ivy’s, you may want to read:

Hope Was Here by Joan Bauer; Listen, Slowly by Thanhhà Lai; Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson; Blackbird Fly by Erin Entrada Kelly

If you would like to chat with fellow HPB Book Clubbers, visit hpb.com/bookclub/fb and join the conversation about Echo between now and the end of May.

So, what book are you going to read next?

Julie is Traffic Manager at Half Price Books Corporate.
You may follow her on Twitter at @auntjewey.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s