If you liked Gone Girl, then you might also like…

I believe the HPB Book Club’s choice of Gillian Flynn’s thriller Gone Girl is quite apropos.  This book’s disturbing look into the dysfunctional marriage of Nick and Amy Dunne paints a haunting picture of lies, secrets, betrayal and revenge, which makes for a very interesting read.

Amy Dunne is missing. The crime scene looks fishy and the investigation points straight at Nick Dunne, whose undemonstrative behavior makes him appear apathetic and turns public opinion against him. Gone Girl is divided into three parts, with each chapter alternating between Nick’s and Amy’s points of view.  At first, Amy’s chapters are told through journal entries, which directly contradict the thoughts and memories floating in Nick’s mind, turning the whole book into a dark “he said/she said” mystery.  If you haven’t read the book, I don’t want to give too much away, though I will say I closed the book, hoping that I would never meet any of those characters in real life.

If you are looking for more books like Gone Girl for your next read, here are a few you might enjoy:

The Silent Wife, by A.S.A. Harrison; And When She was Good, by Laura Lippman; In the Woods, by Tana French; Under Your Skin, by Sabine Durrant; The Husband’s Secret, by Liane Moriarty

Books the author says influenced Gone Girl:


Historically speaking



What Was She Thinking?: Notes on a Scandal, by Zoë Heller; Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, by Edward Albee; Life on the Mississippi, by Mark Twain

The movie version of Gone Girl, starring Ben Affleck, Rosamond Pike and Neil Patrick Harris is currently in theaters, but if you would like to chat with fellow HPB Book Clubbers about Gone Girl, visit hpb.com/bookclub/fb and join the conversation.

So, what book are you going to read next?

Julie is Traffic Manager at Half Price Books Corporate.
You may follow her on Twitter at @auntjewey.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s