If you Liked This is Where I Leave You, then you might also like…

If you are part of the HPB Book Club, you are currently reading or perhaps just finished, This is Where I Leave You, by Jonathan Tropper. Before reading this book for the HPB Book Club, I had never read any books by Jonathan Tropper, but now I can’t wait to look up his other books. Tropper has a fun way of looking at difficult situations that makes you laugh in spite of yourself. This is Where I Leave You is about a man whose life is falling apart and who is forced to reconnect with his estranged family, burying old hurts and finding out surprising secrets.  Ultimately, the main character must decide what he truly wants out of life and what kind of man he wants to be. Of course, the serious side of the book is buried behind Shiva chairs, fire alarms, baby monitors, and flaming testicles. And, if you like to read about serious topics surrounded by humor, here are a few other books you may like:


Truth in Advertising, by John Kenney; Domestic Violets, by Matthew Norman; The Financial Lives of Poets, by Jess Walter; If Jack’s in Love, by Stephen Wetta; Someone Could Get Hurt, by Drew Magary


And of course, some other books by Jonathan Tropper:

One Last Thing Before I Go;  How To Talk to a Widower;  Plan B;  The Book of Joe;  Everything Changes

The movie version of This is Where I Leave You, starring Jason Bateman and Tina Faye will be in theaters September 19.  And if you want to chat with fellow HPB Book Clubbers, visit hpb.com/bookclub/fb and join the conversation about This is Where I Leave You between now and the end of September.

So, what book are you going to read next?

Julie is Traffic Manager at Half Price Books Corporate.
You may follow her on Twitter at @auntjewey.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s