If you liked And the Mountains Echoed, then you might also like…

When I was told that the HPB Book Club selection for June and July was And The Mountains Echoed by Khalid Hosseini, I wasn’t exactly excited about it. I read Hosseini’s The Kite Runner earlier this year, and though I thought the writing was beautiful, the plot was so heartbreaking that I found myself forcing my way through it. However, after having read And The Mountains Echoed, I have to admit I was enthralled by the poetic pictures Hosseini’s words painted in my imagination. I also found myself approaching every chapter like a puzzle, trying to see how the chapter fit in with the rest of the book, as each chapter is told from someone else’s perspective. Now, I’m searching for what to read next. If you are like me, and you enjoyed reading And The Mountains Echoed, here are some other books you may like to read next.

Books about the Middle East:

Words in the Dust by Trent Reedy; The Bookseller of Kabul by Anne Seierstad; and In the Sea There are Crocodiles by Fabio Geda.

Books about siblings:

A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley; Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant by Anne Tyler; As I lay Dying by William Faulkner; Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen.

Books about the persecution of a people:

The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay; The People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks; The Power and the Glory by Graham Green.


Short story collections that read like novels:

Triburbia by Karl Taro Greenfield; The Wanderers by Richard Price; Winesburg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson; Midaq Alley by Naguib Mahfouz.

I think I may read The Bookseller of Kabul or Triburbia next. What about you?  What is your next book going to be? And if you want to chat with fellow HPB Book Clubers, visit hpb.com/bookclub/fb and jump in the conversation about And the Mountains Echoed between now and the end of July.


Julie is Traffic Manager at Half Price Books Corporate.
You may follow her on Twitter at @auntjewey.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s