If You Like “The Help,” You Might Also Like…

I had heard a ton of excellent things about “The Help,” by Kathryn Stockett, but I was hesitant to read the book. So often, I don’t actually like books that are popular. But when I found a paperback copy that was written in English, but published in Italy , I couldn’t resist buying it. That’s just way too cool. I had several friends tell me, “You have to read this book.” So, I broke down and did. I finished it in two days. It’s amazing.

“The Help” is a novel about racism, friendship, and what it was like to be living life in the 1960s in Jackson, Mississippi. The book flips back and forth between narrators – from Aibileen, a black maid for a white family who is wise, to Minny, another black maid who has a temper and can’t keep her mouth shut, to Miss Skeeter, a white lady in her 20s who grew up with black maids and finally realizes the horrible way that the blacks are treated.

All three women have very different outlooks on life, but one thing in common – they understand that the way blacks are treated is wrong. They decide to write a book chronicling the black maids’ lives in Jacksonville – everything about raising white children, cleaning, having separate bathrooms, and even having family members beaten and blinded because of a misunderstanding. This book even hit upon the horrible practices that doctors (both black and white) did during this time, not understanding what they were doing.

One moment you’ll be laughing out loud about something Minny said and the next minute you’ll be crying your eyes out. The characters are something special – ones that you want to be your friends. Both the reader and the characters even have a common enemy– the evil Hilly. As I was reading the ending, I felt like my friendships with the characters were ending. This is the type of book that grabs somewhere deep inside you and holds on really tightly.

I definitely side among the popular crowd with this book. You have to read it!

So, if you like “The Help,” you might also like  . . . “The Secret Life of Bees” by Sue Monk Kidd; “Olive Kitteridge” by Elizabeth Strout; “Water for Elephants” by Sarah Gruen; “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows.


What did you think of “The Help?” Are there any other books or authors you’d recommend for those who liked it? Are you excited for the movie?

Happy Reading! Sincerely, Kristen B.

2 thoughts on “If You Like “The Help,” You Might Also Like…

  1. Other recommendations for those who liked The Help:The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom – told from 2 view points : a white indentured servant and the slave that must raise her. Very interesting to read about indentured servants and also see the difficulties she faces as she grows up.Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford- story of a Chinese boy and a Japanese girl who live in the US and become friends during WWII.

  2. Hi KB – we share the same intials! I recently read Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet and enjoyed it as well. I was actually debating on using that one or The Potato Peel Society in the blog. So, great choice to mention! I haven't heard of The Kitchen House. I'll keep my eyes peeled for a copy in the store. Thanks for the extra suggestions!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s